Sharon Middleton AM Awarded 2023 Trish Pickering Memorial Award


Sharon Middleton AM Awarded 2023 Trish Pickering Memorial Award

13th December 2023

Sharon Middleton AM awarded Trish Pickering Memorial Award for 2023

Earlier this month in Adelaide Transport Women Australia Limited Chair, Jacquelene Brotherton and Sponsor, Wes Pickering presented the 2023 Trish Pickering Memorial Award to Sharon Middleton AM, Sharon is the fifth recipient of the Award since its inception in 2019. She has devoted her life to the Trucking Industry, her husband Bob and her charity, Foundation Shine Inc.

Wes had this to say “Sharon has been an inspiration to many, in her native South Australia, and across Australia, through her lengthy commitment and dedication to her industry.


So many of our Women, (and Men) deliver a lifetime of voluntary work and extra effort, on top of their “day” job.

These people do not do it for the glory, or benefits to themselves, but to improve life for others – and they set a powerful daily example.


Sharon is an exceptional contributor in exactly these ways, and it is very special to be able to recognise Sharon personally today.


Congratulations Sharon and Thank You.


Thank you to all Transport Women for all the good work you do every day!”


Sharon had this to say as she accepted the award “Well what a day, in what was a crazily busy day an unexpected, but most welcome surprise visit occurred with you, Wes Pickering and Steve Shearer on my doorstep with cakes, a gorgeous posy of flowers and a very special award, none other than the Trish Pickering Memorial Award as sponsored by Wes.  I am very grateful for the Board and their consideration and feel very honoured to join the ranks of Pammy McMillan and Phyl Jones great friends of mine and of course the amazing Merry and Hazel.


It is wonderful that TWAL is there to support and encourage women to enter the industry as a career of choice – something 40 years ago was quite rare, but not only that, normalise. concept of women in the industry and what it is they can contribute. In addition, for all of industry, men, and women, discuss our experiences so we can advocate for positive change for all working in the industry irrespective of gender – All drivers dream of greater facilities on the highway, especially in our rural and remote areas as one example.


To be acknowledged this way certainly was a boost to my morale and again thank you for organising the special handover.”

Director of Whiteline Transport, Sharon Middleton is President of the South Australian Transport Association, an ATA board member, a former director of Transport Women Australia Limited, and was inducted into the Road Transport Hall of Fame in 2014 and in 2019 the RTHF recognised her as an Industry Icon.


Sharon was named the National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year in 2013 and was awarded the SARTA Outstanding Contribution Award in 2011. Sharon was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day 2019 Honours List for her service to the road transport industry.


Sharon is a superb entertainer and is devoted to making the trucking industry and the wider community a better place. She is a very worthy recipient of this award. Former recipients are Pam McMillan, Phyllis Jones OAM, Hazel Whitmore, and Merry Manton.


The Award was established to recognise women who are dedicated to improving the transport industry have made an outstanding contribution over a prolonged period. It is based on the pillars of independence, strength, leadership, encouragement of others and being a role model.