Our Projects help shape our organisation

At Transport Women Australia Limited we are leading the way by providing scholarships, conducting industry research and developing learning initiatives for our members.

Driving the Difference Scholarships

Established in 2019 with sponsor Daimler Trucks Australia Pacific. Each year we give new and existing members the chance to enter the industry or upskill to advance themselves in their chosen transport related field. The winning applicants must demonstrate initiative, commitment to advancement and professional development in the transport and logistics industry, identify a professional course of study and have an exemplary work ethic.

2022 Recipients

Ainsleigh Bilato

Brooke Tran

Ellen Tandy

Nichole Speers

Joana Feiteria

Sally-Ann Eather

2021 Recipients

Sharon Robertson

Melissa Barry

Sanjeeta Aggarwaal

Melira Lister

Melissa Riley

Carina Wrigley

2020 Recipients

Alexandra Del Piero

Hannah Stewart

Isaiah Tomkinson

Lynette Gray

2019 Recipients

Katie Hannifey

Kerri Connors

Manjusha Vanarla

Sarah O'Brien

Women Driving Transport Careers

Established in 2018 with joint venture partners Volvo Group Australia and Wodonga TAFE. This is a unique female-only driver licensing program that allows women to  obtain their truck licence and be employed by a transport company. This initiative  has upskilled drivers for Linfox, Australia Post/StarTrack. Alex Fraser/Hanson, Mainfreight, Visy, and Cleanaway.

Visit Wodonga Tafe

Creating Connections Mentoring Program

This program matches our members who are seeking guidance with other members who have a passion for the industry and helping others. The goal is to provide TWAL members with access to mentoring relationships that encourages personal and professional growth through the facilitation of knowledge, experience, support and guidance. The program hopes to also promote professional development among staff entering the workforce and provide opportunities for a career path within the Transport and Logistics Industry. To find out more or to sign up to become a mentee or mentor, email

Learning Initiatives Breakfast Series

Established in 2019 with the theme – Financial, Physical and Mental Health with sponsors NTI, Move Bank and rt health. The series went into hiatus in early 2020 (during Covid 19) after a breakfast sponsored by Teletrac Navman and the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator but are back in 2022 with sponsorship by TWUSUPER and rt health. These are designed to provide networking and educational opportunities for attendees in a friendly and interactive environment. These are free events that cover topics like health, finance, superannuation, and other topics that may be relevant to both the personal and professional life of the attendee. Sponsors and members of TWAL can host these 
events. To sponsor or host an event, please contact the Chair. The event must be cost neutral to TWAL and free to members.

Trish Pickering Memorial Award

Trish Pickering Memorial Award is bestowed to recognise women who have dedicated themselves to improving the road transport industry through continuous years of contribution whilst upholding the four pillars on which it is based – being a role model, and showing strength, leadership, independence, and encouragement to future generations.

2022 Recipients

Merry Manton

2021 Recipients

Hazel Whitmore

2020 Recipients

Phyllis Jones OAM

2019 Recipients

Pam McMillan

Transport Women Dream Maker Awards

These awards are a joint venture by TWAL and the Road Transport Hall of Fame (RTHF) and are for women working diligently and mostly unrecognised in the background to help others achieve their dreams.

They are in recognition of their commitment to the family company, large companies or owner drivers for all they do behind the scenes. This award was established to show our appreciation to all our unsung workers.


Katharina Attana – Tasman Logistics Services

Ainsleigh Bilato – Exact Contracting

Robyn Bilato

Kate Bohr – Roadmaster Refrigerated Transport

Zoe Bunning – Hy-Tec

Courtnay Burfoot – CJD Equipment


Di Jones – Eather Group

Nellie Jones – Jackls Trucking

Millicent Kohen – Wollongong Linemarking Services Pty Ltd

Georgie Marley – Marley’s Transport

Carolyn Moore – Ross Transport

Frances Ross – Ross Transport


Shirley Castle

Shirley Dunn – Dependable Travel

Dixie Gleeson

Bridie Gray – Harvey’s Towing

Ann Impala – Allied Seafreight Logistics

Dawn Ziros

Letticia Y Johnson – Jackls Trucking

Miriam Sheppard – IOR

Shirley Smith – Cloncurry Smith Transport

Tracey Lee Sneyd - Centurion

Karyn Welsh – CILTA

Natalie Whitford – Alex Fraser

Lynette Willet – Eather Group